History of and Snaps from Charming Creek Walkway rated in the top five of day walks in the South Island
The Charming Creek bush railway was built to carry out timber and coal from the Charming Creek Valley
The Charming Creek bush railway was built to carry out timber and coal from the Charming Creek Valley. Given the narrowness and turbulence of the Ngakawau River gorge, it was an amazing feat, built by two Scots who were brothers – George and Robert Watson. It was completed about 1912 with wooden rails and worked by horses before steel rails and rail tractors were introduced in the 1920′s. It was closed Sept 1958 but remains open today for walking (all seasons) and mountain biking (except around Xmas and Easter).
Charming Creek Walkway
Distance: 10.5 km one way – time required 6 hours return. Best to do just the Ngakawau to Watson’s Mill part (3 hrs return) if you can’t arrange transport at the Seddonville end of the track. Be warned – at the Seddonville track exit, it is 14 kms of gravel road back to the Seddonville village.
Difficulty: Easy – and the first half is fabulous fun for kids. Read more.